I want to cancel my account.

Feel free to check out our expanded Knowledge Base article here!

Need to take a break? No problem!

As long as you're in good standing with Linden Lab (not delinquent with billing or otherwise in violation of the Community Standards and Terms of Service), your Second Life account can remain inactive as a basic membership account indefinitely. This means that your avatar and inventory will continue to be stored on the Second Life servers.


Canceling an account

If you're thinking about canceling your premium account, consider leaving it active with a basic membership, which costs nothing to maintain. If at some point in the future you should choose to revisit Second Life, your avatar and your inventory will be here waiting for you. If you elect to cancel your account, it is possible that your inventory, land or Linden Dollar balance may be removed, so please check to make sure there isn't something you'd like to keep before cancelling. 


If you do decide to cancel your account:

  1. Log in to the Second Life website with your Second Life username and password.
  2. Go to the Cancel Account page.
  3. Click the Cancel Account button at the bottom of the page.

Your account will remain open fora short time unless you hold a premium membership, in which case it will remain open until your billing review date as account maintenance fees are paid in advance. 


Feel free to check out our expanded Knowledge Base article here!

Did you find it helpful? Yes No

Send feedback
Sorry we couldn't be helpful. Help us improve this article with your feedback.