Downgrading your Premium Membership
Make sure to sell or abandon your land (or Linden Home) before you downgrade! To downgrade your premium or Concierge account to basic, follow these steps:
- Log into the Second Life website.
- On the lef side of the screen, select Premium Membership.
- The Change Membership Plan screen opens, displaying a chart of Membership plans and prices.
- Select Basic Account.
- Click Save Changes. Your new plan becomes effective at your next billing date.
Warning: If you downgrade to a basic account, you will lose all the land you own, and you will no longer have access to your weekly Linden dollar stipend or live chat support.
Make sure to sell or abandon all your land before you downgrade!
You may also wish to check your group land contributions and make arrangements to keep your group's land holdings in good standing.
|Note: If you are a member of more than 42 groups, you will not lose any group memberships when you downgrade. However, you may not join any new groups with a basic account until you reduce your group memberships to fewer than 42.|
Canceling your premium account
If you're thinking about canceling your account, consider leaving it active with a basic membership, which costs nothing to maintain. If at some point in the future you should choose to revisit Second Life, your avatar and your inventory will be here waiting for you.
You can always update or discontinue your membership plan by going to the Cancel Account page after logging in with your Second Life username and password. This link is also accessible through the Account section on the left of your Dashboard.
Once logged in, find the Cancel Account button at the bottom of the page. Your account will remain open until your billing review date, as account maintenance fees are paid in advance.
|Tip: If you want to keep your name for possible future use but don't want to pay the US$9.95 reactivation fee, simply downgrade to a basic account.|
You may still be charged for land
If you cancel or downgrade your account from premium, you may still be charged for your current month's land holdings.
As stated on the Land Pricing & Use Fees page:
Land use fees are billed based on the peak amount of land held during your previous 30 day billing cycle. This includes land parcels held and land tiers donated to groups... Peak usage is measured by the maximum amount of land you held — for any length of time — during your billing cycle.
Thus you are always charged for your premium membership and the maximum amount land you owned during the current billing cycle, regardless of whether you cancelled your account before the end of the month.
Don't see what you need here? Please visit our Knowledge Base for a more comprehensive list of Support topics!